International Missions

UNSCOM

With our international engagement we are making an important contribution to security in regions of crisis and we support the security efforts of the international community. International operations are also in the interest of Switzerland as they enable us to gain experience in the field, to work with genuine samples and foster international networking. Our engagement is voluntary. Staff expenditure depends on the requirements of the international organisations and our internal capacities.

Green Star Award of UNEP

The UN has repeatedly called us in as recognised specialist institute of a neutral state for environmental missions in politically sensitive regions of conflict. For this we were awarded the ‘Green Star’ of the UN in 2009. This prize gives credit to works, organisations, individuals or governments that champion sustainability, promote global responsibility and carry out operations in the event of environmental destruction and disasters.

Examples of operations over the past years:

2015: Operation with the European Mobile Laboratory to overcome the Ebola outbreak in Guinea

In 2014 and in 2015, a scientific advisor from the Biology Division was deployed to the European Mobile Lab in Guéckédou in Guinea and screened patient samples for Ebola viruses with molecular diagnostics. Reliable diagnoses could be obtained rapidly by on-site analysis. They are basic for taking measures to deal with the situation.

2013: Development project in the Democratic Republic of Congo

In the Democratic Republic of Congo a development programme supported by UNICEF has been running since 2006 under the designation of ‘Villages et Ecoles assainis’. The objective of this programme is to improve the supply of drinking water, hygiene and waste water disposal in both rural villages and municipal areas. Two staff members of Spiez Laboratory collected and analysed samples for UNEP and UNICEF from 25 May to 10 June 2013 to assess the quality of drinking water. Especially in the southern mining areas contamination of ground water with heavy metals due to intensive mining activities cannot be ruled out.

2012: UNEP/OCHA Mission Brazzaville, Congo, in collaboration with the Swiss Humanitarian Aid unit and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDA)

From 13 to 20 March 2012, Spiez Laboratory gave support to the Joint Environment Unit of UNEP/OCHA after the explosion accident in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo. On 4 March 2012, several tons of high explosives and ammunition from old stockpiles had detonated. The purpose of the mission was making a preliminary assessment of the explosion’s environmental impact. For this purpose it was planned to take samples from the site of the explosion, the immediate vicinity and from unpolluted earth and water locations. The samples were pooled, analysed and packed in the town. Some of the samples were sent to Switzerland for detailed analysis. The examination was aimed at obtaining information on distribution and concentration of heavy metals and blasting agent residues that might have a toxic effect on humans and the environment.


Top of page

Internationale Missionen

UNSCOM

Mit unserem Engagement über die Grenzen hinweg leisten wir einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Sicherheit in Krisenregionen, und wir unterstützen die Sicherheitsbestrebungen der internationalen Gemeinschaft. Internationale Einsätze dienen auch schweizerischen Interessen, denn sie erlauben Erfahrungen im Feld, ermöglichen das Arbeiten mit reellen Proben und fördern die internationale Vernetzung. Unser Engagement basiert auf Freiwilligkeit. Der Personalaufwand orientiert sich an den Bedürfnissen der internationalen Organisationen sowie an den verfügbaren internen Kapazitäten.

Green Star Award des UNEP

Als anerkanntes Fachinstitut eines neutralen Landes hat uns die Uno etliche Male für Umweltmissionen in politisch heiklen Konfliktregionen aufgeboten. 2009 wurden wir dafür mit dem "Green Star Award" der Uno ausgezeichnet. Dieser Preis würdigt Betriebe, Organisationen, Einzelpersonen oder Regierungen, die sich für die Nachhaltigkeit stark machen , die globale Verantwortung fördern und Einsätze bei Umweltzerstörungen und Katastrophen leisten.

Beispiele von Einsätzen aus vergangenen Jahren:

2015: Im Einsatz mit dem European Mobile Laboratory zur Bewältigung des Ebola Ausbruchs in Guinea

Eine wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des Fachbereichs Biologie war 2014 und 2015 mit dem European Mobile Lab in Guéckédou in Guinea im Einsatz und untersuchte mittels molekularer Diagnose¬ver¬fahren Patientenproben auf Ebola-Viren. Mit der Unter¬suchung vor Ort konnte rasch eine verlässliche Diagnose sichergestellt werden, welche als Grundlage von Massnahmen zur Bewältigung der Situation dient.

2013: Entwicklungsprojekt in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo

In der Demokratischen Republik Kongo läuft seit 2006 ein durch die UNICEF unterstütztes Entwicklungsprogramm unter dem Namen „ Villages et Ecoles assainis“. Ziel dieses Programmes ist die Verbesserung der Trinkwasserversorgung, der hygienischen Verhältnisse sowie der Abwasserentsorgung in ländlichen Dörfern, aber auch städtischen Zonen. Zwei Mitarbeiter des Labor Spiez haben vom 25.5. – 10.6.2013 im Auftrag der UNEP und UNICEF Probenahmen und Feldanalysen zur Beurteilung der Trinkwasserqualität unternommen. Speziell in den Bergbaugebieten des Südens kann nicht ausgeschlossen werden, dass durch die intensiven Erzabbautätigkeiten Grundwasserzonen mit Schwermetallen kontaminiert werden.

2012: UNEP/OCHA-Mission Brazzaville, Kongo, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizerischen Korps für humanitäre Hilfe und der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit DEZA

Vom 13.-20. März 2012 unterstützte das Labor Spiez die Joint Environment Unit der UNEP/OCHA im Nachgang des Explosionsunglücks in Brazzaville, Republik Kongo. Am 4. März 2012 waren dort mehrere Tonnen Sprengstoff und Munition aus alten Lagerbeständen explodiert. Ziel der Mission war eine erste Abschätzung des Einflusses der Explosion auf die Umwelt. Dazu wurde eine Probenahme geplant, welche vom Explosionsstandort, der näheren Umgebung, sowie an unbelasteten Stellen Wasser- und Bodenproben vorsah. Die Proben wurden in der Stadt gesammelt, analysiert und verpackt. Für Detailanalysen wurden Teile der Proben in die Schweiz verschickt. Ziel der Untersuchung waren Aussagen über die Verteilung und Konzentration der Schwermetalle und Sprengstoffrückstände, die eine toxische Wirkung auf Mensch und Umwelt haben können.


Zum Seitenanfang