UN-System

UN Security Council resolution 1540

The UN Security Council resolution 1540 of 2004, which as international law is legally binding for Switzerland, sought against the background of the terror attacks of 2001 to require all states to impose effective legal and regulatory measures to prevent the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. Resolution 1540 thus extended already existing treaties to non-state actors as well: Resolution 1540 explicitly obliges states to take decisive action against non-state actors as regards weapons of mass destruction.

UN Secretary-General’s mechanism

In the light of the first Gulf war between Iran and Iraq a resolution was passed in 1987 by the plenary that established the UN Secretary-General’s mechanism. This mechanism serves as a verification instrument of the Geneva Protocol for investigating alleged use of chemical and biological weapons (‘United Nations Secretary-General’s Mechanism for Investigation of Alleged Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons’ - UNSGM). A list of experts and a list of laboratories are compiled for the UNSGM which can be provided by the UN member states. Switzerland regularly evaluates its nominations so that it is ready for an assignment on behalf of the UNSGM and thus able to offer its good offices – as for example the analytical laboratory tests relating to the UN mission in Syria of August 2013.

For their fact-finding mission in Syria the UN relies on the laboratory network of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW). The OPCW’s designated laboratories – including Spiez Laboratory - are internationally accredited and are subjected to stringent quality tests every year. Since the Chemical Weapons Convention entered into force in 1997, these laboratories have validated their analytical procedures and precisely laid down the criteria for reporting the results. On the basis of these strict and undisputed quality controls, the results of the UN fact-finding mission in Syria were both politically and scientifically accepted without any restriction.

Contrary to the strict quality standards in the field of chemical weapons there are no corresponding controls in the biological field. In the case of a UN mission investigating the alleged use of biological weapons, lab analyses might therefore easily be questioned or even rejected. For this reason Spiez Laboratory seeks to remedy this deficiency. Such efforts are aimed at extending the quality assurance and reporting requirements of the Laboratories so that in the future UN fact-finding missions relating to biological weapons can also be both politically and scientifically accepted without any restriction.


Top of page

UNO-System

UNO-Sicherheitsratsresolution 1540

Die für die Schweiz völkerrechtlich verbindliche UNO-Sicherheitsratsresolution 1540 von 2004 hatte vor dem Hintergrund der Terroranschläge von 2001 zum Ziel, von allen Staaten die Durchsetzung effektiver gesetzlicher und regulatorischer Massnahmen zur Verhinderung der Verbreitung von Massenvernichtungswaffen zu verlangen. Damit erweitert die Resolution 1540 die bereits existierenden Abkommen auch auf nicht-staatliche Akteure: Die Resolution 1540 nimmt die Staaten explizit in die Pflicht, gegen nicht-staatliche Akteure im Bereich der Massenvernichtungswaffen entschieden vorzugehen.

UNO-Generalsekretärsmechanismus

Im Lichte des Ersten Golfkriegs zwischen Iran und Irak wurde 1987 mit einer Resolution der Vollversammlung der UNO-Generalsekretärsmechanismus ins Leben gerufen. Dieser Mechanismus dient als eine Art Verifikationsinstrument des Genfer Protokolls für Untersuchungen mutmasslicher Einsätze von chemischen und biologischen Waffen („United Nations Secretary-General’s Mechanism for Investigation of Alleged Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons“ - UNSGM). Im Rahmen des UNSGM werden je eine Expertenliste und eine Laborliste geführt, die von den UNO-Mitgliedstaaten alimentiert werden können. Die Schweiz überprüft regelmässig ihre Nominationen, um für einen Einsatz zu Gunsten des UNSGM gewappnet zu sein und so ihre guten Dienste anbieten zu können - wie z.B. für die laboranalytischen Untersuchungen im Rahmen der UNO Mission in Syrien vom August 2013.

Für ihre Erkundungsmission in Syrien stützte sich die UNO auf das Labornetzwerk der Organisation für das Verbot chemischer Waffen („Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons“ - OPCW). Die designierten Labors der OPCW – darunter auch das Labor Spiez - sind international akkreditiert und werden jedes Jahr strengen Qualitätskontrollen unterzogen. Seit dem Inkrafttreten des Chemiewaffenübereinkommens 1997 haben diese Labors ihre Analyseverfahren validiert und Kriterien für die Meldung der Analyseergebnisse zur Identifizierung genau festgehalten. Aufgrund dieser strengen und unbestrittenen Qualitätskontrollen wurden die Ergebnisse der UNO-Erkundungsmission in Syrien auch politisch und wissenschaftlich uneingeschränkt akzeptiert.

Im Gegensatz zu den strengen Qualitätsstandards auf dem Gebiet der chemischen Waffen fehlen entsprechende Kontrollen im biologischen Bereich. Bei einer UNO-Mission zur Abklärung eines möglichen Einsatzes biologischer Waffen könnten daher die Analysen der Labors womöglich leicht hinterfragt oder sogar abgelehnt werden. Deshalb engagiert sich das Labor Spiez für die Behebung dieses Mangels. Die entsprechenden Aktivitäten beschäftigen sich mit den Anforderungen an die Qualitätssicherung und Berichterstattung der Labors, damit in Zukunft potenzielle Erkundungsmissionen der UNO auch im biologischen Bereich von Politik und Wissenschaft uneingeschränkt anerkannt werden.


Zum Seitenanfang